One Thing!

“One thing I ask from the LORD, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.” (Psalm 27:4 NIV)

In spite of all the things we may ask of God, while we are yet here on the planet, there is only one thing that I desire of Him, after death–to live with Him for all eternity.

No matter how many movies we see–lighting the way to heaven, seeing what actors do when they are supposedly in heaven, the reality is–after death–we know nothing (in the natural) and can certainly do nothing. I’ve often threatened to come back and haunt some folks if they don’t follow my wishes when I die, but whatever they do–will no longer concern me when I’m dead. For The Word says, “the dead know nothing” and we should not promote them knowing anything.

However, when He returns, “even the dead in Christ shall rise, first and live forever” with Him for all eternity. But in order to get there, or be “in Him” before we die, we must obey Him and do what He says for us to do. If we do not know The Word, we certainly cannot obey The Word, so I implore you today, get to know The Word, obey The Word, and expect the One Thing you seek the most to happen–in heaven for all eternity.